Co-ke-o Rocha

13 Nov

Something about those eyes,

Something about that hair

“You see a model walking down the street and she’s wearing jeans and a T-shirt, no makeup, her hair down, and she looks like a regular girl. For me just to look ‘natural’ in a photo takes two hours of hair and makeup, good lighting, styling, and Photoshop–and six hours later, you have the picture. But when I go home, it’s just me with no makeup, pimples, and a pair of baggy pants. That’s life–the rest is just fantasy. We all need to remember that a photo is just what beauty was to one photographer on one day. You can’t compare yourself to those pictures. You are real. Photos are two-dimensional. Beauty is three-dimensional. Your confidence, your personality, your presence–it all adds to what make you beautiful.”

-CoCo Rocha

3 Responses to “Co-ke-o Rocha”

  1. Cat March 6, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    Wonderful sentiments! I wish more models spoke out like Coco…

    Anywho, you’re an official source for my little painter’s blog (for the top pic). You have a lovely blog too, by the way. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • jsm19 March 6, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      I love your paintings! I wanted to comment but I couldn’t find where to do it! I think I’ll be using some of them as illustration for an upcoming playlist if you don’t mind! Your work reminds me of this painting by Becca Mann :https://cokeandtell.wordpress.com/2010/12/13/flying-lotus/

      • Cat March 6, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

        Hahaha, thank you! So long as you refer people back to the original blog somewhere- you’re totally welcome to use any you like! And yeah, the blog isn’t even a month old, sooo I disabled comments (seeing as how there weren’t going to be any really). I’ll open up comments when more people know about it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

