Love it or Leaf it

28 Dec

This painting by Ximo Gascon, won the online art competition organized by one of my favorite places to be: the  Saatchi Gallery.

I really wouldn’t do it justice by describing it myself so here’s an excerpt of an interview with the painter :

“Tell us what inspired this piece you submitted for SHOWDOWN:

XG: Looking very closely at a dried thistle leaf, I became aware of its Baroque structure and its defence mechanisms. I was able to use the idea it transmitted to me as an artistic metaphor, representing the struggle between the leaf and the abstract elements that attack it. I was also inspired by my reading of a sonnet by the Spanish poet Miguel Hernández (1910-1942). The image appears as a motive in his book “El Rayo Que no Cesa” (“The Unceasing Lightning”). The concept was deeply rooted in my subconscious and came out in the form of a painting.

When Joan Miró was asked the same questions that you have asked me here, he replied that painting a picture is very easy, you simply have to read a poem and repeat it over and over, in the end you will have a painting. I think he was right.”

Read the whole thing here

Leave a Reply

